Is False Lead's effect activated when it is forfeited by another card's effect?

Is the text interpreted as
"When this agenda is forfeited: if the runner has 2 or more clicks remaining, they lose 2 clicks." or
"Forfeit this agenda to activate this ability: if the runner has 2 or more clicks remaining, they lose 2 clicks."?
For example, would the runner lose 2 clicks if False Lead was forfeited as an additional cost to Archer?

Board & Card Games Asked by LetsGoo on December 26, 2020

1 Answers

One Answer

False Lead is not activated when forfeited by another card. That's because the ability on False Lead is a Paid Ability, not a Conditional Ability.

A card’s trigger cost is always listed in its text box before the effect, following the format “cost: effect.” A paid ability can be triggered an unlimited number of times as long as the cost is paid and any restrictions specified by the effect are observed.

By being a Paid Ability, forfeiting False Lead is an explicit cost of the ability, and must be paid in service of activating the ability.

As a result, you can't both forfeit False Lead to pay for Archer (which requires forfeiting an agenda as part of it's rez cost) and to pay for False Lead's ability. False Lead can only be forfeited once. Since, both cards require False Lead to be forfeited as a cost, you have to chose one.

In order for False Lead to work as you imagine, it would need to say something like: "When you forfeit False Lead, the runner loses [click] [click]."

Answered by Zags on December 26, 2020

Add your own answers!

Related Questions

Female Go champions?

2  Asked on December 15, 2021


Can I create an online version of a game?

1  Asked on December 10, 2021 by paolo-guerra


Munchkin – can you put cards which you cannot use sideways

1  Asked on December 8, 2021 by cezary-butler


Help me score my cribbage hand

1  Asked on November 30, 2021 by suzanne-bernard


Simplest finesses in Spades?

3  Asked on November 23, 2021


Ask a Question

Get help from others!

© 2022 All rights reserved.