Use of Researcher in Pandemic?

Board & Card Games Asked by Ruth Anderson on July 28, 2020

Can the Researcher transfer cards to another player on her very first turn, in other words, while still in Atlanta? Seems like this gives too much of a head start at beginning of game.

One Answer

Yes, it is perfectly legal for the researcher to share cards on the first turn but it is still somewhat limited as it is limited to the cards that player starts with. While it does sound powerful at the start it should be remembered that it does limit the amount of damage that can be controlled on the first turn if it is spent sharing knowledge. Not to mention that if you are in a 4 player game it would only change someones hand by 1 or 2 cards depending on which colors they match in the other players hands which isn't that large of an advantage when you need 5 cards to do a cure.

2 players: 4 cards to give 3 players: 3 cards to give 4 players: 2 cards to give


When doing the Share Knowledge action, the Researcher may give any City card from her hand to another player in the same city as her, without this card having to match her city. The transfer must be from her hand to the other player’s hand, but it can occur on either player’s turn.

Answered by Joe W on July 28, 2020

Add your own answers!

Related Questions

Why is Royal Flush ever listed separately from Straight Flush?

3  Asked on October 29, 2021 by benjamin-cosman


Euchre Call for partner

1  Asked on October 29, 2021 by brice


World legacy Key Ruling

2  Asked on October 29, 2021 by bobellegend


In spades, is a deuce of clubs considered a spade?

2  Asked on October 29, 2021 by dejanelle-b


Can you use the row the card is in as a clue?

2  Asked on October 29, 2021 by user32837


How many jokers can you use in a run or set in Rummikub?

1  Asked on October 29, 2021 by user32853


Ask a Question

Get help from others!

© 2022 All rights reserved. Sites we Love: PCI Database, MenuIva, UKBizDB, Menu Kuliner, Sharing RPP, SolveDir