AnswerBun.com

When do you resolve a spell with a casting time of 1 action?

Role-playing Games Asked by Gal Ben-Ami on September 10, 2020

I think I’ve read somewhere that spells that cost 1 action to cast are resolved in the beginning of your next turn and you make any sort of attack roll then. But I’m not so sure of it and I couldn’t find a definitive answer in the Player’s Handbook.

When does the spell resolve if its casting time is 1 action? And when do you make the roll for any effect it makes?

I would like your source on the answer to this so I can reference it in the future as well.

One Answer

A spell with a casting time of 1 Action takes no longer to perform than a Weapon Attack.

On your turn, you can take one Action. Example Actions are Attack, Cast a Spell, Dash, etc.

In the Cast a Spell section it specifies

Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell.

So, if you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 Action, you resolve it the exact same way that you would resolve an attack. You declare that you are casting the spell, then you (and your target) immediately make any dice rolls necessary to resolve the outcome of the spell.

Some spells have repetitive effects once they are cast, and all of them clearly specify when those repeating effects occur.

Correct answer by guildsbounty on September 10, 2020

Add your own answers!

Related Questions

Half orc fighter max starting HP

1  Asked on November 19, 2021 by rock-stone

     

Ask a Question

Get help from others!

© 2022 AnswerBun.com. All rights reserved. Sites we Love: PCI Database, MenuIva, UKBizDB, Menu Kuliner, Sharing RPP