AnswerBun.com

Can a batsman complete a run outside the 2 metre wide cricket pitch?

Sports Asked by Alex Brookes on July 31, 2021

In hitting a potential winning run in a tied cricket match my brother’s bat slipped out of his hand and over the square leg umpire’s head. He did not realise that a bat is not needed to complete a run, so he ran and collected it then headed for the bowler’s crease, which allowed time for him to be run out.

If he had run parallel to the pitch and reached a point past an imaginary extension of the popping crease at the bowler’s end, would the run of counted, and/or would he have been out?

One Answer

Yes. Quoting from Law 7 The Creases:

The popping crease [...] shall be considered to be unlimited in length.

so you can complete the run anywhere on the playing surface.

Answered by Philip Kendall on July 31, 2021

Add your own answers!

Related Questions

Ask a Question

Get help from others!

© 2023 AnswerBun.com. All rights reserved. Sites we Love: PCI Database, MenuIva, UKBizDB, Menu Kuliner, Sharing RPP, SolveDir