AnswerBun.com

What happens if a tennis player challenges a decision for his opponent

Sports Asked on October 22, 2021

Typically tennis player can challenge a certain number of decisions. If they lose the challenge, they lose one of those “challenges”, but if they are right they don’t. So, they could possibly challenge as many decisions they want as long as they are always right. In this video, however, Herbert did not have any challenge left, he asked the opponent to challenge the decision, and Herbert got the point. If Herbert had challenged the decision he would have been right and lost none of his challenges. Did his opponent lose one, since it was Herbert’s point?

One Answer

If Herbert had challenged the decision he would have been right and lost none of his challenges. Did his opponent lose one, since it was Herbert’s point?

The answer is simple: Stakhovsky (the opponent) was right in his challenge. The initial call was OUT. Stakhovsky challenged this decision. He was right in his challenge, because the ball actually was IN. Therefore, he did not lose a challenge.

To whom the point is awarded is a different question based upon the final call after the review and has nothing to do with who does (not) lose a challenge.

See the relevant section of the rulebook as follows.

enter image description here

The rulebook can be found here: https://www.atptour.com/en/corporate/rulebook

Answered by beta on October 22, 2021

Add your own answers!

Related Questions

Table Tennis Edge Protectors

1  Asked on August 18, 2021 by aaron-d

   

How to beat a defender 1v1 on the wing?

3  Asked on August 16, 2021 by hassanniazi

       

Run out rules in cricket if one player doesn’t run

4  Asked on August 15, 2021 by bharat-a-chanchlani

     

Rules around shepherding in football

1  Asked on August 14, 2021 by going

   

Cork screwing the punch

0  Asked on August 14, 2021

   

Why does “rain stop play” in cricket?

1  Asked on August 14, 2021 by rock-ape

   

What does “92 in 43 in hundred” mean?

1  Asked on August 14, 2021 by kaz-calihan

 

Ask a Question

Get help from others!

© 2023 AnswerBun.com. All rights reserved. Sites we Love: PCI Database, MenuIva, UKBizDB, Menu Kuliner, Sharing RPP, SolveDir