Sports Asked on October 22, 2021
Typically tennis player can challenge a certain number of decisions. If they lose the challenge, they lose one of those “challenges”, but if they are right they don’t. So, they could possibly challenge as many decisions they want as long as they are always right. In this video, however, Herbert did not have any challenge left, he asked the opponent to challenge the decision, and Herbert got the point. If Herbert had challenged the decision he would have been right and lost none of his challenges. Did his opponent lose one, since it was Herbert’s point?
If Herbert had challenged the decision he would have been right and lost none of his challenges. Did his opponent lose one, since it was Herbert’s point?
The answer is simple: Stakhovsky (the opponent) was right in his challenge. The initial call was OUT. Stakhovsky challenged this decision. He was right in his challenge, because the ball actually was IN. Therefore, he did not lose a challenge.
To whom the point is awarded is a different question based upon the final call after the review and has nothing to do with who does (not) lose a challenge.
See the relevant section of the rulebook as follows.
The rulebook can be found here: https://www.atptour.com/en/corporate/rulebook
Answered by beta on October 22, 2021
2 Asked on August 22, 2021
0 Asked on August 18, 2021 by the-footsie
1 Asked on August 17, 2021
2 Asked on August 16, 2021 by sr-snow
3 Asked on August 16, 2021 by hassanniazi
2 Asked on August 16, 2021
4 Asked on August 15, 2021 by bharat-a-chanchlani
1 Asked on August 13, 2021 by venki
1 Asked on August 13, 2021
1 Asked on August 12, 2021
1 Asked on August 12, 2021 by hedgehog-ninja
Get help from others!