AnswerBun.com

What recourse does a player have when a referee makes a scoring mistake in snooker?

Sports Asked on May 30, 2021

Today in the World Championships, the referee, Jan Verhaas, made a scoring mistake in the eighth game of the quarterfinal match between Neil Robertson and Kyren Wilson. The error occurred in Wilson’s second visit to the table after breaking off. This is the way it went:

red     referee: one
pink    referee: seven
red     referee: eight
blue    referee: thirteen
red     referee: fourteen
black   referee: nineteen
red     referee: twenty
black   referee: twenty-seven
(miss)  referee: Kyren Wilson, twenty-seven

So, as you can read in the above transcript, the referee errored on the sixth ball of the second visit. He scored a black for five points, as though it was blue, instead of for seven points. This led to the overall point total for visit being two points less than it should have been. Although Wilson did indeed win the frame, at one point it could have made a difference in the outcome if Robertson had played perfectly.

So, in this situation, what are the player’s options when a referee makes an error like this? Is it encumbent on the player to notice the error immediately and petition for it to be corrected, or can it be corrected later? So, for example, once the total for the frame had been called, was it too late to fix it?

One Answer

Whilst the onus is generally on the referee to keep score - it is also the players' responsibility to ensure that the correct score is being applied, insomuch as it's actually in the rules:

Section 4: The Players

6. Scoring Responsibility

As well as the referee, it is the players’ responsibility to make sure that the correct score is being applied, either on the scoreboard or by the referee announcing the scores. If any player notices that the score is incorrect, it is their responsibility to inform the referee at the earliest opportunity.

"earliest opportunity" is a little vague, but I would imagine that the latest is the end of the current frame. I also seem to recall a player once pointing out to a referee that they had incorrectly scored their opponent's break, once that break had ended (though I can not seem to find it).

Answered by ImClarky on May 30, 2021

Add your own answers!

Related Questions

Why do MLB AL teams play against NL during season

1  Asked on March 20, 2021 by user20950

   

Betting value, with our without bookmaker margin

1  Asked on March 17, 2021 by mbih

   

Lowest average to bowl a 300 game?

2  Asked on March 17, 2021 by thegeneral

       

Problems in elbow while hitting a forehand shot

1  Asked on March 16, 2021 by m-moussa

   

False start when close to your own end zone

1  Asked on March 14, 2021 by terry-hetherington

   

Shortest Current Longest Winning Streak in NBA history

0  Asked on March 14, 2021 by joe-n

   

Can all penalties be declined in American Football?

3  Asked on March 12, 2021 by cantsay

     

Ask a Question

Get help from others!

© 2023 AnswerBun.com. All rights reserved. Sites we Love: PCI Database, MenuIva, UKBizDB, Menu Kuliner, Sharing RPP, SolveDir