AnswerBun.com

Which of these situations are a catch?

Sports Asked on April 19, 2021

Will the batsman be dismissed as caught is each of the below scenario:

  • If the ball hits the arm pad of the batsman and is caught by the fielder.

  • If the ball hits the leg pad first, then hits the bat and is finally caught by the fielder.

  • If the ball hits the bat first, then hits the umpire and is finally caught by the fielder.

  • If the ball hits the bat first, then hits the batting partner and is finally caught by the fielder.

One Answer

Wikipedia defines caught as

A batsman is out caught if a fielder catches the ball fully within the field of play without it bouncing once the ball has touched the striker's bat or glove holding the bat. If a batsman could be given out caught or by any other method except bowled, 'caught' takes precedence.

Law 33 of the Laws of cricket has sub-clauses defining fair-catches, one of which is:

33.2.2.3 a fielder catches the ball after it has touched the wicket, an umpire, another fielder, a runner or the other batsman.

So, to answer your various scenarios,

If the ball hits the arm pad of the batsman and is caught by the fielder.

No. This will not be a dismissal as it has neither touched the the batsman's bat nor the glove holding the bat.

If the ball hits the leg pad first, then hits the bat and is finally caught by the fielder.

Yes. This is considered a legal catch and the batsman is dismissed.

If the ball hits the bat first, then hits the umpire and is finally caught by fielder.

Yes. Refer 33.2.2.3 above.

If the ball hits the bat first, then hits the batting partner and is finally caught by the fielder.

Yes. Refer 33.2.2.3 above.

Correct answer by Orangecrush on April 19, 2021

Add your own answers!

Related Questions

How many assists did Pele make for Brazil?

0  Asked on April 10, 2021 by john-strachan

   

Fair sidearm delivery

1  Asked on April 6, 2021

 

VAR check after match end?

2  Asked on April 5, 2021 by mordecai

       

Questions about fps for airsoft

1  Asked on April 4, 2021

 

Greyhound Racing Descriptions

1  Asked on April 1, 2021 by ginger

 

Ask a Question

Get help from others!

© 2023 AnswerBun.com. All rights reserved. Sites we Love: PCI Database, MenuIva, UKBizDB, Menu Kuliner, Sharing RPP, SolveDir