AnswerBun.com

"there was a problem previewing this document" in Gmail

Web Applications Asked by G33K on December 18, 2020

Almost every time I click on an attachment preview in Gmail it says

there was a problem previewing this document

and offers to download. What did I do wrong and how to fix it?

5 Answers

I solved it reenabling Flash option in Chrome settings (for mail.google.com site)

Answered by Andrew on December 18, 2020

The Disconnect Chrome extension causes this. The easiest is to disable it for Gmail (the same goes for Inbox).

Just click og the disconnect plugin next to the address bar and the click on Whitelist site. This reloads Gmail and the attachment should now be available. After clicking Whitelist site the text changes to Blacklist site.

Answered by homaxto on December 18, 2020

This related to security settings which IT department of companies set in order to make documents handling more secure. Contact your IT department. They should be able to provide a solution to this. It has got nothing to do with Google figuring out what is secure/ not secure documents.

Answered by SBB on December 18, 2020

Another option is if you have another email provider, like Yahoo for example, you can send the email to your Yahoo account and open the attachment there.

Answered by user94503 on December 18, 2020

That means the attachment you are previewing is not a valid attachment for being able to open by Google apps (like document, excel sheet, zip file, image, etc.). If any attachment is not considered as secure for security reasons then in that case also, Google won't make it available for preview. The only remaining option that Google can do for you in this situation is to let you download so that you may find some other tools to open that attachment.

Answered by Choxx on December 18, 2020

Add your own answers!

Related Questions

Google Sheets: Lookup Value that falls after a Timestamp

0  Asked on January 23, 2021 by user261687

 

Twitter trending list not correct

1  Asked on January 23, 2021 by beth202

   

Can I send support questions to Google via email?

1  Asked on January 17, 2021 by mafu

 

Email forwarding to Gmail and SPF

1  Asked on January 13, 2021 by daunpunk

   

Why is my Twitter Page in Arabic?

1  Asked on January 10, 2021 by mariana-beaumont

 

How to sort files in folder by date created?

3  Asked on January 8, 2021 by user1306322

 

Why I am getting this error message from Gmail?

0  Asked on January 4, 2021 by abu-bakar-saadat

 

Ask a Question

Get help from others!

© 2022 AnswerBun.com. All rights reserved. Sites we Love: PCI Database, MenuIva, UKBizDB, Menu Kuliner, Sharing RPP